Gert’s pinup boy

August 12 was the anniversary of William Blake’s death in 1827.  In celebration of this marvellous man, here are two of his poems:

Ah! Sun-flower.

Ah, Sun-flower! weary of time

Who countest the steps of the sun;

Seeking after that sweet golden clime,

Where the traveller’s journey is done;

 

Where the Youth pined away with desire,

And the pale virgin shrouded in snow,

Arise from their graves, and aspire

Where my Sun-flower wishes to go.

 

The Poison Tree

I was angry with my friend;

I told my wrath, my wrath did end.

I was angry with my foe:

I told it not, my wrath did grow.

 

And I water’d it in fears,

Night and morning with my tears;

And I sunnèd it with smiles,

and with soft deceitful wiles.

 

And it grew both day and night,

Till it bore an apple bright;

And my foe beheld it shine,

and he knew that it was mine,

 

And into my garden stole

When the night had veil’d the pole;

In the morning glad I see

My foe outstretch’d beneath the tree.

 

11 thoughts on “Gert’s pinup boy

    1. Love him, as a man and a writer. An original, a radical and just a bit mad.

      We have an amusing post parked in the back shed about some of Wordsworth’s less-skilled lines. A sneak preview:
      This is a world of waste and ruin;
      Consider, Charles, what you are doing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

