Sara Taylor: The Lauras

index 

 

An American road-trip novel? Not the sort of thing that usually sends me rushing to the library but I’d heard such good things about Sara Taylor that that’s just what I did. And I wasn’t disappointed. No Kerouac, no Thelma and Louise, no Humbert Humbert. Just 13-year-old Alex and Ma, walking out on Dad and heading somewhere Ma seems to have been planning for a long time. As they cross America from north to south and east to west, Ma stops off to settle some old scores and meet some old obligations. And Alex, the voice of the book, grows up over the next two years, not sure where they’re going or why, private and watchful, holding absolutely still while at the same time moving relentlessly, unstoppably forward (270). They’re close but not close; Ma is always watching out for Alex, but what’s going on inside her is a mystery to the kid, even though as they go she begins to talk for the first time about her childhood and youth. There’s another aspect to Alex that I won’t reveal here because it took a while to dawn on me and I enjoyed the way it did.

The Lauras of the title are girls Ma has known and loved at different times in her life, starting from her first childhood friend, and these are some of the stories she tells Alex. I did find the Laura thing a bit of an unnecessary frill, but that’s a minor quibble. The restlessness of an immigrant nation, the feeling that home was a place I was going to, rather than a place I could occupy is what really powers the book and never leaves Alex even in later life. Nature or nurture, something I had been born with or something that had grown with every step and mile, it didn’t matter which. I had my mother’s restlessness. (296)

The rhythm of the road trip is in Taylor’s rangy, flexible style:

As rain began to rattle against the roof my eyes closed. I heard the engine on the other side of my dreams, felt the car move, but it was easier not to be awake. It wasn’t until we stopped and I heard Ma put the parking brake on and cut the engine that I opened them again.

She was leaning her elbows and wrists on the steering wheel, holding a lit cigarette between her fingers but not smoking, the mumble of the radio cut off like she’d closed a door on the lonely singer. The sky was white over a whiter beach and even whiter breakers, all tinged a faint blue from the tint of the windshield glass. Out of the dark, foaming ocean a sun was rising massive and red. (31)

The long straight empty roads, the burger joints and truck stops and brown-carpet motels, the sun coming up over fields and freeways, the windshield dark with the coming evening or bright with early frost, the smell and sound of the sea, life in tired little towns off the main highway – all this is convincing, memorable and interesting, as is Alex, the narrator. Sara Taylor’s preferred mode seems to be the story – her first book The Shore is a series of interlinked short stories about a collection of small islands off the coast of Virginia – and The Lauras is essentially a series of stories about Ma’s life, connected in the overarching narrative of the road trip and the world that’s emerging for Alex.  None of the episodes has the mind-blowing punch of Target Practice, the first story in The Shore, or the dreamy beauty of the last one, Tears of the Gods, but the whole is more than the sum of the parts. What holds it all together and makes it so interesting is not Ma’s mission and the way she carries it out, but the voice of Alex. I’m not sure how old Sara Taylor is, but she’s pretty young. She’s got a lot more to give us yet.

 http://www.irishtimes.com/culture/books/on-the-road-again-the-lauras-author-sara-taylor-on-remaking-us-road-novel-1.2768445

17 thoughts on “Sara Taylor: The Lauras

    1. I wouldn’t normally have read it, but I’d heard such good things about her first book, which I read after this one. I think the first book is better, though not all parts are equally good. It will be interesting to see what she does next.

      Like

        1. Yes, and sometimes when you’ve read two you wonder if they can go a bit further afield in their imagination. I think I’ll lose interest in SaraTaylor if her next book is along similar lines to the first two (setting, and the characters’ dilemmas). Some writers can write the same material over and over and still be interesting (Anita Brookner, Jean Rhys) but these books haven’t got that whatever-it-is. Or not for me.

          Like

  1. You had me a road trip,and cemented that with “home was a place I was going to, rather than a place I could occupy.” Sounds like maybe it’s part of being raised American? The sentences that you quote are tempting as well. There’s a lot of reading to do after this degree is finished.

    Right now I’m off to make my way through more of “Bright Earth,” by Philip Ball, 337 scholarly pages about the origins and uses of pigments in art by a somewhat scholarly chemist. Fascinating, but turning into a bit of a slog. Why this? My mentor is a former illustrator for the New Yorker,etc., turned writer after injury to his hands, and he thought this might be an example of a creative way to approach a nonfiction topic like wheat. If you are at all interested in this sort of thing, it’s good. Also have read “Indigo,” by Catherine McKinley, a woman of African origins adopted at an early age by people of Scottish background in Vermont who goes off to Ghana on a Fulbright for several years to write about the dye indigo, and its history and uses. More readable, more memoir, and shorter. And also, “Colour” by Englishwoman Victoria Finley, which is also more personal than the chemist’s book and equally interesting. Lots of art, in case you are interested in exploring these topics.

    Like

  2. What sounds intriguing to me is what you have left unsaid:

    “There’s another aspect to Alex that I won’t reveal here because it took a while to dawn on me and I enjoyed the way it did.”

    Anything that takes a while to dawn is really about a shift away from something which occurs to you in a different wey. Would you agree?

    Great post!

    Shakti

    Like

    1. Thanks Shakti. There’s something a bit different about Alex from the beginning. Some people would have been on to it straight away, but I wasn’t. If I’d read a spoiler, like Guy, it would have put me off, so I’m glad I didn’t.

      Like

Leave a Reply

