Another of Gert’s famous quizzes

pass-solitude

1. My good overcoat once lost is lost forever (Pride and Prejudice). (Gubbinal)  opinion

2. For a long time I used to go to brothels early   (Swann’s Way)

3. ‘Hold your nose’, cried a terrible voice (Great Expectations)

4. When I consider how my lunchtime is spent   (Milton’s sonnets)

5. Doghouse, doghouse, doghouse, they all go into the doghouse (T.S. Eliot Four Quartets)

6. ‘You won’t finish that sudoku tonight’, he said, pointing to her sudoku (To The Lighthouse)

7. The younger, Mrs Almond by name, was the wife of a prosperous merchant and the mother of a blasted family. (Washington Square) Honourable mention to Chris for badger

8. Birds in the trees,

– those dopey generations – at their song   (Yeats, Sailing to Byzantium) dying (June)

9. It is not accurate to call this an annual event, because quite often the Club is sozzled for some years after each meeting. (Decline and Fall) ✓ suspended (Chris)

 

10. I am Miss David. Mrs Murdock’s secretary. She wanted me to ask you for a few racccoons.

Raccoons?

Certainly. Raccoons. Does that surprise you? (Raymond Chandler, The High Window) Honourable mention to Chris for rallentando.

Here is your challenge. You replace the highlighted word with another word starting with the same letter. Marks will be given for ingenuity as much as for accuracy. The bonus is that, if you look up the book to find the answer, you’ll be reading some great stuff.

And a very special prize for this one: Virginia Woolf’s galoshes.

Image: https://www.oldbookillustrations.com/illustrations/pass-solitude/

14 thoughts on “Another of Gert’s famous quizzes

    1. You are a literary demon, Gubbinal.. This is one of Gert’s favourite quotes and one she often uses when annoyed by unreliable tradesmen, inconsiderate throwers-away of rubbish and the like.

      Like

  1. No 1 was the only one I knew. As I’m currently lying on my sick-sofa I’m going for facile and facetious answers [genuine guesses in square brackets].

    1. My good opossum once lost is lost forever.

    2. For a long time I used to go to Brisbane early. [breakfasts?]

    3. ‘Hold your Norsemen’, cried a terrible voice.

    4. When I consider how my lucre is spent. [life?]

    5. Dreamtime, dreamtime, dreamtime, they all go into the dreamtime.

    6. ‘You won’t finish that sarabande tonight’, he said, pointing to her sarabande.

    7. The younger, Mrs Almond by name, was the wife of a prosperous merchant and the mother of a badger family.

    8. Birds in the trees,– those decapitated generations – at their song. [doleful?]

    9. It is not accurate to call this an annual event, because quite often the Club is sequestered for some years after each meeting. [suspended?]

    10. I am Miss David. Mrs Murdock’s secretary. She wanted me to ask you for a few rallentandos.Rallentandos? Certainly. Rallentandos. Does that surprise you? [recommendations?]

    Sorry. Head like cottonwool. Witty answers seem to have revolved around animals, Aus and music for some reason. I’m off. (That should be “I’m off to lie down.” Man-flu is a terrible thing.)

    Like

    1. What a sterling effort, Chris, especially with that life-threatening disease. I will feel terrible if this is your last mortal act. You have no 9 right and an honourable mention for 7 and 10. Very close with your guesses for 4 and 10. Just imagine what you could have done in full health!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Isn’t that a glorious line? And followed by “the salmon falls, the mackerel-crowded seas” – no doubt about the old Willie Yeats. No, just the first word that came to mind. I like Chris’s sinister suggestion of “decapitated”.

      Like

  2. ‘Mackerel-crowded seas’ is wonderful and i like ‘And be the singing-masters of my soul’. Hard to understand (for me) but needs to be taken piece by piece perhaps.

    Like

Leave a Reply

