Gert’s TBR

images

As our friend Calmgrove complains, there are always more books to be read. These are piled up beside Gert’s bed right now:

Tennessee O’Neill: Desire Under The Streetcar
Virginia Roth: Mrs Dalloway’s Complaint
Enid Sartre: Nausea in Toyland
Emily Austen: Wuthering Park
Vladimir Dickens: Lolita Copperfield
Jacqui Wolfe: Bonfire Of The Hollywood Wives
Ernest Tartt: The Goldfinch Also Rises
Dr Vonnegut: The Cat In The Slaughterhouse
James Dostoevsky: Ulysses The Idiot
Arundhati Stein: The God Of Alice B. Toklas

Has anyone read any of these, or seen any reviews, to save us the trouble?

13 thoughts on “Gert’s TBR

  1. I read Desire Under The Streetcar after reading about it in The Ageist. It tells the poignant story of eight year old Jayden who got stuck under the (mercifully stationary) streetcar while trying to retrieve his gobstopper which rolled underneath the car when Jayden dropped it as he took it out of Its paper bag. The story has a happy ending. After the boy is pulled safely out from under the streetcar a kind stranger buys him another gobstopper.. Not Recommended.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hoping to read a review of Dr. Vonnegut’s “Cat in a Slaughterhouse” (I thought it was “Cat in a Hot Tin Slaughterhouse,” but I must be mistaken). I recall that it was about a cat who got trapped in a salmon-packing plant (those often have tin roofs to shed the rain that is often found in salmon-cannery areas). The cat fell asleep on the conveyor belt after gorging itself, and awoke in the morning when the belt started moving him toward the guillotine-style machines that cut the salmon into the right sizes for packing. He leapt from the belt to the floor in the nick of time, only to find himself unable to get any footing on the slick floor. As I recall, my copy of the book (this was some years ago and my memory is fuzzy) was snatched from my hands by an juvenile eagle that mistook the salmon on the cover for the real thing, and carried it off for a late dinner. I look forward to hearing the fate of the poor cat . . .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cat in a Hot Tin Slaughterhouse is the second book in the series. There’s a third called The Unusual Incident of the NIght Slaughterhouse Cat, but most critics seem to think he’s written the theme out.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. These are all on my birthday list, thanks Gert. But you really ought to acquire Jean Bach’s neglected classic Jonathan Sargasso Seagull which I reviewed early last April. I find it most useful as a substitute for my broken bedside table leg.

    I can’t find the author of the dystopian The Hashtag Games — do you know it? — research on Twitter suggesting it might be by multiple authors. I wonder if the copy I ordered online has fallen foul of the chaos arising from the situation I outlined in my post here: http://wp.me/p2oNj1-2bD

    Oh, and have you read Avril Plaisantin’s The Salmon of Wisdom? I found it most enlightening: http://wp.me/s2oNj1-fishy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have it on very good authority that the author of The Hashtag Games is Steve Bannon, and that it’s pretty random whether you get the book or not when you pay for it – all part of his anti-rules strategy.
      Our religion forbids us to read any book with fish in the title, so I’m afraid we’ll have to pass on April’s work.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

