Richard Coles : Murder at the Monastery

Another book from the age of the celebrity writer. But Richard Coles has a more interesting background than most. He has been a Greek scholar, a musician in a rock band, The Communards, a Catholic, an Anglican, an Anglican vicar, a competitor in Celebrity Masterchef, Come Dancing and Celebrity Mastermind (which he actually won, his subject being the Mapp and Lucia novels of E F Benson). I have not seen any of this as it does not come to us in the Colonies (nor to the U S, I think.)

He has also worked for the BBC and written for The Times and is a comfortably gay man. So when what appears to be a cosy crime set in a monastery comes to my notice in the early days of winter when the rain is making up for lost time, it seems just the thing.

Our hero Cannon Daniel Clement has just solved a murder and is getting quite a bit of notice in the press. He has fled to Ravenspurn, the monastery where he spent several years training to be a monk, before deciding that his path lay elsewhere. But he is not here to avoid the press; he is here because he has what can only be described as a ‘broken heart’. The friend and colleague, a young policeman, he has become close to, has just announced his passion for a young woman. It is clear that Daniel has been deluding himself in thinking that their relationship has possibilities. He keeps bursting into tears, feeling lost and bereft.

The monastery is Anglo Catholic, which seems to me to be like Roman Catholic, only without the Pope. The monks have regular prayer time, and periods of silence. There are also novices who are monks in training. And it is one of these young men who dies in circumstances that cause Daniel to suspect murder.

It all takes a long time to come about and an even longer time to solve.

In the meantime we have a thread about Daniel’s mother Audrey and her dogs, another about the daughter of the Lord of the Manor and her choices , about her brother Alex who decides to stay for a few days seeing there is some good cocaine around, and his lover/servant Nathan.

The coming into being of the monastery is described as fulfilling a haven for weary soldiers returning from WW Two, going on to,

…become a fixed feature of the Church of England, restoring a dash of Catholic character to a Reformation experiment, like a tot of brandy in a cocoa.

In practice this meant gorgeous liturgy, fine scholarship, good preaching and a sort of ecclesiastical campery unique to the Anglo-Catholic tradition…drag names were unofficially conferred upon new brethren with their saints’ names: Dark Mavis, Wobbly Wendy, Gloria Monday…Trude the Obscure.

We also have sermons, a great deal of praying and quotes in Greek. It becomes clear we are in the 1990’s, Lady Di is still alive and, more importantly for this story, a huge debate is tearing the Church of England apart; the Ordination of Women. This was voted on in 1992 and is one of the main causes for anger and rifts in this monastic community . As one man says,

‘You might as well ordain an owl. Or a pillar box’.

It is only three quarters of the way through the book that it appears the only death in the book is really murder. The culprit is revealed. It is of course an inside job. The answer had to found to who let the fox among the chickens.

Readable, but a bit too much preaching and rather unnecessary doctrinal exposition for me. But reading this did cause me to make a discovery. Did you know Murder in a Monastery is a genre?  Who would have thought it?

The most famous (and which I think I failed to get through many years ago) is The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco.

Then there’s Ellis Peters’ Brother Cadfael.

A Canticle for Liebowitz by Walter J Miller

The  Monastery Murders by E M Powell.

 The  Monastery Murders by Donna Fletcher Crow

Murder in the Monastery by Lesley Cookman.

And, the only one I have sent for, Murder at the Monastery, by Tor Freeman, a graphic novel featuring Sister Clawdetta (who is, of course , a cat)

That tells you something about me.

20 thoughts on “Richard Coles : Murder at the Monastery

  1. What you say pretty much confirms the reviews I’ve seen that this is quite passable if a tad uneven. Personally I’ve pretty much avoided these cosies penned by British and Irish celebrity authors (Richard Osman and Graham Norton spring to mind as well as Coles).

    It’s not because the books aren’t well received or that the writers aren’t talented, nor do I have the common British attitude that being a jack of all trades means each is master of none because truly creative types are more than likely to successfully cross boundaries into related arts.

    No, it’s because I hate being part of a herd that hoovers up whatever is flavour of the month (if you’ll pardon the mixed metaphors). It may be my initial loss but I like to discover whatever’s worth reading for myself, even if it’s several years down the line. But I reserve the right to contradict myself here… 🙂

    1. I only discovered how well known the author was after I’d read the book. If I had known beforehand I might not have bothered.
      It has however led me to pick up a second hand copy of The Name of the Rose which was a fail for me when I first attempted to read it.
      Maybe you can read Sister Clawdetta for one of your cat reads🙄

          1. Three classic crime stories set in schools for girls/ young women (but not convents) come to mind:

            Josephine Tey “Miss Pym Disposes”

            Agatha Christie “Cat Among the Pigeons”

            and best of all Nancy Spain “Poison for Teacher’

            I’m sure there are others.

              1. I re-read it a couple of years ago. It would now require a page of trigger warning and apologies for all its unacceptable attitudes and whatnot for sensitive modern readers. And no doubt Spain would be retrotransed as some kind of non-binary or queer something.

                1. Hmmm Mirian Birdseye and her friend Natasha. and Nancy herself living with her lovers and their children. I don’t think she had any problem being an openly gay woman.

  2. Sound how using his title the “Reverend” gives one the feeling he has some inside knowledge of the dreadful event.

    Leslie

  3. One of the bookshops I work with hosted an author event with him recently, and he’s a delightful, personable man. He’s also a big champion of the benefits of independent bookshops in general, which really helps – it’s Independent Bookshop Week in the UK right now, and he’s one of the official ambassadors for the event. I haven’t read any of his Canon Clement books myself, but far as celebrity authors go, he’s been very popular with our readers. 🙂

  4. Here’s one: “https://www.thriftbooks.com/w/murder-at-the-convent/37340583/#edition=65341054&idiq=59043304 “Murder at the Convent, by Tanya R. Taylor, “Father Joe McCullen is no ordinary priest.He has a heart of gold, but he’s no pushover. Very little passes his ears or his eyes, and he can smell a “rat” from a mile away.

    The community of Old Providence is held by higher standards by the beloved priest, yet “skeletons” still manage to creep out of the closets of his faithful parishioners every now and then, and oftentimes are not headed anywhere in the direction of the confessional.Join Father Joe McCullen on the most extraordinary, eyebrow-raising adventures of mystery, suspense, humor – and surprise after surprise!” It’s categorizd as a cozy, and looks as if there are a couple more (he doesn’t limit himself to religious settings, apparently).

    1. It’s definitely a cosy You can tell by the cover. (and the title ) We thought we might try one ourselves. So far I’ve got a light-fingered nun and a religious maniac. Of course my co-author may veto all of that.

        1. I suppose I could, but I just can’t get my head around the nature of it. To me it’s like kids playing with buttons and saying ‘ Let’s say this is gold.’

  5. Thank you for alerting me that this exists! I have the previous one still to read but have requested this from NetGalley (won the first one, turned down for the second so who knows) and will return to this review when I’ve read it!

Leave a comment