John Burnside: The Night Ferry

46567530232_117344a4be

The British poet and novelist John Burnside died on May 29th at the age of 69, far too early. You’ll find a number of posts about him on our site. Here’s an unforgettable poem:

The Night Ferry

Had I been less prepared, I would have left
in springtime, when the plum tree in the yard
was still in bloom,
the windows open after months of snow,
one magpie in the road
and then another.

I could have slipped away, late afternoon,
while everyone was busy somewhere else,
the fish van at the corner, children
dawdling home from school
in twos and threes, a porch light
lit against the dusk on Tollbooth Wynd.

Give me these years again and I will
spend them wisely.
Done with the compass; done, now, with the chart.
The ferry at the dock, lit
stern to prow,
the next life like a footfall in my heart.

4 thoughts on “John Burnside: The Night Ferry

  1. I feel so sad about this…69 seems painfully young these days, and I’m sure he had so much more to give. I’ve only read A Summer of Drowning so far, which was excellent, but I’m keen to read more.

Leave a comment